Official Languages

Operating in both Nunavut and the Northwest Territories, the WSCC provides services in many different languages.

In Nunavut, Inuktut (Inuktitut or Inuinnaqtun, depending on the region), English, and French are all recognized as official languages, and have equal status.

In the NWT, English, French, Tłı̨chǫ̨, North Slavey, South Slavey, Chipewyan, Gwich’in, Cree, Inuvialuktun, Inuktitut, and Inuinnaqtun are the official languages. English and French have equal status. 

The WSCC is committed to providing services to people in the official language of their choice, with the help of in-house, bilingual employees, or contracted third parties. These services include the translation of written communications, as well as over-the-phone interpretation. 

If you have any questions, concerns, or feedback regarding languages, please reach out to our Official Languages Coordinators at or